Known Issues - Main Site
Updated 04-13-2014
Find A Grave Links
Pending Admin Approval
Updated 04-18-2014
Find A Grave Toolbox
Who's Online
12 registered (TAC 1567, Ediana, cheekybones, Mayo Fan, 7 invisible), 36 Guests and 17 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Recently Shared Photos
No Burying without Permission
Headstone design
Cenotaph
Topic Options
#2133753 - 03/15/12 07:37 PM Seek Polish family of WWI soldier killed in France
RonFranscell Offline

Loc: Texas, USA
My name is Ron Franscell, and I am a journalist and author. But Iíve recently become part of an all-volunteer effort to reconnect a small personal military artifact with a fallen infantrymanís family, and I hope that someone in your agency will help me do a good and right thing.

A WWI dogtag was found last year by a French metal-detector on a WWI battleground in France. Rather than sell it into the collector market, this French citizen decided to try to reunite it with the family of the doughboy who lost it. I volunteered to help him. We are not accepting any compensation for this, not even the eventual costs of shipping the dogtag to the family from France. Iím hoping you can help me connect the proper dots.

I am seeking information about Army PFC JOE GRAIPER (#45870). The surname is listed as both GRAIPER and GRAPIER Ö and his dogtag looks like GRIEPR. When he registered/enlisted on April 26, 1917, he lived in Ironwood, Gogebic County, Michigan, USA in Michigan. According to the Michigan Archives, Joseph Graiper was born in Poland to Stanley and Rosalia Grapier (no hometown listed). He was a single man, worked as a miner. No birthdate or other information was given. The actual spelling of his surname is not known at this time.